The Pendleton Town Council met in regular session at 6:00 PM on January 12, 2023, at Pendleton Town Hall, 100 West State Street, Pendleton, Indiana. All documents presented are on file in the Clerk-Treasurer's office and may be reviewed upon request. Town Council President Chet Babb called the meeting of the Pendleton Town Council to order.

Council Members present were President Chet Babb, Vice President Shane Davis, Steve Denny, Marissa Skaggs, and Jennifer Roberts. Five of five members confirmed a quorum. Clerk-Treasurer Willie Boles was present.

Also representing the Town were Town Manager Scott Reske, Planning Director Hannah Urbanski, Deputy Clerk-Treasurer Dawn Speedy, Deputy Clerk-Treasurer Kelley Dillon, Fire Chief Chris Nodine (via zoom), Town Marshall Marc Farrer, Park Director Aaron Burris, Judge George Gasparovic, and Town Attorney Jeff Graham. The minutes from the meeting of November 10, December 8, December 12, 2022, were approved as presented.

## **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

- Graham presided over the election.
- Babb stated he would not accept a nomination.

BABB NOMINATED MARISSA SKAGGS FOR PRESIDENT, SECOND BY DENNY. MOTION CARRIED WITH A VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

DENNY NOMINATED SHANE DAVIS FOR VICE-PRESIDENT, SECOND BY SKAGGS. MOTION CARRIED WITH A VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

#### APPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Skaggs tabled appointments.

#### **CLERK-TREASURER'S REPORT**

Clerk-Treasurer Willie Boles presented financials and claims for December 2022.

MOTION TO APPROVE THE CLAIMS AS PRESENTED WAS MADE BY SHANE DAVIS AND SECONDED BY STEVE DENNY. MOTION CARRIED WITH VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

## **DEPARTMENT REPORTS**

- Fire Department –Fire Chief Nodine presented the report via Zoom.
- Police Department Town Marshall Farrer presented the report.
- Town Court Judge Gasparovic presented the report.
- Park Department Park Director Burris presented the report.
- Planning Planning Director Urbanski presented the report.
- Town Manager Scott Reske presented the report.

### **OLD BUSINESS**

## Ordinance 22-43 surplus utility fund

- · This is the second reading.
- No changes have been made since the first reading.

MOTION TO APPROVE ORDINANCE 22-43 ON SECOND READING WAS MADE BY CHET BABB AND SECONDED BY SHANE DAVIS. MOTION CARRIED WITH VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

### **NEW BUSINESS**

#### Dispatch center representation agreement – Taft Law

- Discussion was had about public safety dispatch fees.
- If a contract with Taft Law is approved, they will try to negotiate a better deal with Madison County for dispatch fees.

MOTION TO TABLE TAFT LAW CONTRACT WAS MADE BY STEVE DENNY AND SECONDED BY SHANE DAVIS. MOTION CARRIED WITH VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

### Ordinance 23-01 renaming a portion of Laurel Street to West Street

This is to rename an extension of West Street.

MOTION TO APPROVE ORDINANCE 23-01 ON FIRST READING WAS MADE BY STEVE DENNY AND SECONDED BY SHANE DAVIS. MOTION CARRIED WITH VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

MOTION TO SUSPEND THE RULES AND PROCEDE WITH THE SECOND READING WAS MADE BY SHANE DAVIS AND SECONDED BY STEVE DENNY. MOTION CARRIED WITH A ROLL CALL VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

MOTION TO APPROVE ORDINANCE 23-01 ON SECOND READING WAS MADE BY STEVE DENNY AND SECONDED BY SHANE DAVIS. MOTION CARRIED WITH VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

# Ordinance 23-02 amending the Zoning Map petition PC01042023-01

• Plan Commission made a favorable recommendation.

MOTION TO APPROVE ORDINANCE 23-02 WAS MADE BY CHET BABB AND SECONDED BY STEVE DENNY. MOTION CARRIED WITH VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

Reske asked for a special meeting to discuss ARPA.

Graham suggested the Town Council approve meeting dates.

MOTION TO APPROVE TOWN COUNCIL MEETINGS ON THE SECOND THURSDAY OF EACH MONTH AT 6PM WAS MADE BY CHET BABB AND SECONDED BY SHANE DAVIS. MOTION CARRIED WITH A VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

## **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

• Bob Post asked if the suit against Rencon had been filed. Graham said it should be filed within the month.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

• There being no other business brought before this Town Council, the public meeting adjourned at 7:00 pm.

Prepared by

Dawn Speedy

Deputy Clerk-Treasurer

Approved by

Marissa Skaggs

Council President