The Pendleton Town Council met in regular session at 6:00 PM on January 11, 2024, at Pendleton Town Hall, 100 West State Street, Pendleton, Indiana. All documents presented are on file in the Clerk-Treasurer's office and may be reviewed upon request. Town Council President Marissa Skaggs called the meeting of the Pendleton Town Council to order.

Council Members present were President Skaggs, Steve Denny, Jerry Burmeister, Bryan Williams, and Cory Hall. Five of five members confirmed a quorum. Clerk-Treasurer Willie Boles was present.

Also representing the Town were Town Manager Scott Reske, Planning Director Hannah Urbanski, Deputy Clerk-Treasurer Dawn Speedy, Town Marshall Marc Farrer, Park Director Aaron Burris, and Town Attorney Jeff Graham. The minutes from the meetings of December 14 & 29, 2023 were approved as presented.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

• Graham presided over the election.

DENNY NOMINATED MARISSA SKAGGS FOR PRESIDENT, SECOND BY BURMEISTER. MOTION CARRIED WITH A VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

SKAGGS NOMINATED STEVE DENNY FOR VICE-PRESIDENT, SECOND BY BURMEISTER. MOTION CARRIED WITH A VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

CLERK-TREASURER'S REPORT

Clerk-Treasurer Willie Boles presented claims for December 2023. Financials and year end were not complete yet.

MOTION TO APPROVE THE CLAIMS AS PRESENTED WAS MADE BY STEVE DENNY AND SECONDED BY JERRY BURMEISTER. MOTION CARRIED WITH VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

DEPARTMENT REPORTS

- Police Department Town Marshall Farrer presented the report.
- Park Department Park Director Burris presented the report.
- Planning Planning Director Urbanski presented the report.
- Town Manager Scott Reske presented the report.

OLD BUSINESS

None

NEW BUSINESS

Resolution R24-01 amending the Bike and Pedestrian Plan

• Plan Commission recommendation to approve R24-01

MOTION TO APPROVE RESOLUTION R24-01 WAS MADE BY STEVE DENNY AND SECONDED BY JERRY BURMEISTER. MOTION CARRIED WITH VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

Resolution R24-02 amending the Thoroughfare Plan

• Plan Commission recommendation to approve R24-02

MOTION TO APPROVE RESOLUTION R24-02 WAS MADE BY JERRY BURMEISTER AND SECONDED BY BRYAN WILLIAMS. MOTION CARRIED WITH VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

Ordinance 24-01 amending the Traffic Code no U-turns on East Street

• This is a safety concern

MOTION TO INTRODUCE ORDINANCE 24-01 WAS MADE BY JERRY BURMEISTER AND SECONDED BY STEVE DENNY. MOTION CARRIED WITH VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

MOTION TO SUSPEND THE RULES AND CONTINUE WITH SECOND READING WAS MADE BY BRYAN WILLIAMS AND SECONDED BY JERRY BURMEISTER. MOTION CARRIED WITH VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

MOTION TO ADOPT ORDINANCE 24-01 WAS MADE BY JERRY BURMEISTER AND SECONDED BY STEVE DENNY. MOTION CARRIED WITH VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

Uniform Conflict of Interest disclosure statement

• Forms were received and accepted

Pendleton Town Council January 11, 2023

Boards and Commissions appointments for 2024

- Plan Commission
 - Kyle Eichhorn
 - Jenny Sisson
 - Carol Hanna
- Board of Zoning Appeals
 - Bob Jones
 - Kyle Eichhorn, from Plan Commission
 - o Jenny Sisson, from Plan Commission
- Historic Preservation Commission
 - George Harris
 - o Jerry Burmeister
 - o One additional appointment to be named
- Board of Stormwater Management
 - o Aaron Hopkins
 - o Donnie Meyer
- Utility Rate Advisory Board
 - Scott Hiatt
 - George Gasparovic
 - Mike Romack
- Redevelopment Authority
 - Ashley Houston
- Economic Development Commission
 - Mike Romack
- Pendleton Urban Forestry Committee
 - Kenneth Lau
- Park Board
 - Shane Davis
- Fall Creek Regional Waste Board
 - Tim Pritchard
- Impact Fee Review Board
 - Julie Schnepp, Indiana Licensed Broker
 - Joe Miller, Indiana Licensed Engineer
 - Tom Lavin, CPA

MOTION TO APPROVE 2024 APPOINTMENTS WAS MADE BY STEVE DENNY AND SECONDED BY JERRY BURMEISTER. MOTION CARRIED WITH A VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

Acknowledgement of Executive Session on January 10, 2024

MOTION TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE ONLY DISCUSSIONS AT THE JANUAY 10, 2024 EXECUTIVE MEETING WERE PER THE REQUIRED NOTICE, WAS MADE BY STEVE DENNY AND SECONDED BY JERRY BURMEISTER. MOTION CARRIED WITH A VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

Adoption of Town Council meeting dates and times for 2024

MOTION TO APPROVE 2024 TOWN COUNCIL MEETINGS BE HELD ON THE SECOND THURSDAY OF EACH MONTH AT 6PM AT TOWN HALL WAS MADE BY STEVE DENNY AND SECONDED BY JERRY BURMEISTER. MOTION CARRIED WITH A VOTE OF FIVE TO ZERO.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

• Kim Barnhart thanked the Council for their consideration of her for Park Board, and also expressed interest in any other available board or commission appointments.

ADJOURNMENT

• There being no other business brought before this Town Council, the public meeting adjourned at 6:28 pm.

Prepared by

Dawn Speedy Deputy Clerk-Treasurer

Approved by

Marissa Skaggs Council President