Waterworks/Storm Water/ Utility Rate Joint Meeting

MEETING DATE: March 8th, 2023

LOCATION: Pendleton Town Hall

100 W. State Street Pendleton, IN

TIME: 6:00 PM

ORDER OF BUSINESS

I. CALL TO ORDER

Meeting was called to order by Scott Reske at 6:31 PM

Waterworks Board members in attendance were Donnie Meyer & Jerry Burmeister. A quorum was established.

Storm Water members in attendance were Kyle Eichhorn & Jerry Kelly. A quorum was established.

Utility Rate Advisory members in attendance were Jenny Sisson, Kyle Eichhorn, Tim Pritchard, and Sloan Smith-Moultrie. A quorum was established.

The individuals representing the Town were Town Manager Scott Reske and Attorney Mike Farrer filling in for Jeff Graham (via Zoom call)

II. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Waterworks Board - Donnie Meyer was voted as president. This was motioned by Jerry Burmeister & seconded by Donnie. Jerry Burmeister was voted as vice president. This was motioned by Jerry Burmeister and seconded by Donnie Meyer. Mike Romack was voted as secretary. This was motioned by Jerry Burmeister and seconded by Donnie Meyer. All Waterworks election motions were in favor by all members present and carried.

Storm Water Board - Kyle Eichhorn was voted as **president/chairperson**. This was motioned by Jerry Kelly and seconded by Kyle Eichhorn. Jerry Kelly was voted as **vice president/vice chair**. This was motioned by Kyle Eichhorn and seconded by Jerry Kelly. All **StormWater** election motions were in favor by all members present and carried

Utility Rate Advisory Board - Tim Pritchard made a motion to retain the officers from the previous year and Jenny Sisson seconded. Jenny Sisson will remain **President** and Kyle Eichhorn will remain **Vice President**. All in attendance were in favor and the motion was carried.

III. APPROVAL OF MEETING MINUTES

A motion to approve the **Waterworks** previous meeting minutes from **September 14**, **2022** was made by Donnie Meyer and seconded by Jerry Burmiester . The motion was carried.

A motion to approve the **Stormwater** previous meeting minutes from **July 13, 2022** was made by Kyle Eichhorn and was seconded by Jerry Kelly. The motion was carried.

A motion to approve the **Utility Rate Advisory** previous meeting minutes from **September 14, 2022** was made by Jenny Sisson and was seconded by Tim Pritchard. The motion was carried.

IV. OLD BUSINESS

No old business to discuss

V. NEW BUSINESS

Stormwater

- Reske gave a report on the storm water fees for 2022. They have generated \$617k while spending \$415k.
- Reske said the storm water fees are doing what they are supposed to do and are allowing a lot of work to be done. There has been work completed between Water street with the McCarty drain, State, & Franklin streets.
- Kyle Eichhorn commented "when it storms that a big difference could be noticed to the conditions on water street"

McCarty Drain

- Reske stated they have finished the leg. This is the pipe that runs from Pendleton Ave across Broadway up to the Railroad.
- Reske also said they are using a 36 in pipe and that they found the old drain crushed everywhere.
- Reske stated we would receive about \$600k from the grant for this project and that it had to be a joint project on a county drain that would alleviate flooding on a state road.

Electric and Water Rate Studies

- Reske presented the proposed Letter of Engagement for the rate study by VerDouw Regulatory Services. He said the cost would be \$40k for each water and electric.
- Jenny Sisson asked for a motion to approve the electric rate study by the URAB. Tim Pritchard made a motion to approve this study and Kyle Eichhorn seconded. The motion was approved.
- Jenny Sisson asked for a motion to approve the water rate study by the URAB.
 Tim Pritchard made a motion to approve this study and Kyle Eichhorn seconded.
 The motion was approved.

• Donnie Meyers made a motion to approve the water rate study for the Waterworks board. Jerry Burmeister seconded this motion. The motion was approved.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Next regular meeting is April 12, 2023 at 4:30

Meeting adjourned by Utility Rate Advisory President Jenny Sisson at 6:24PM

